Who we are

68 like-minded wine makers
90 ÖTW ERSTE LAGE sites

Wine should not be a
uniform & mass-produced product.

Weingut Hiedler Langenlois 2013 by Thomas Kirschner
oetw weinglaeser 0102
Weingut Hiedler Langenlois 2013 by Thomas Kirschner
oetw weinglaeser 0102

Centuries of wine culture in the Danube River Region.

 

We are like-minded viticulturists who strive to express the distinctive characteristics of our regions & soils, our climates, our grape varieties & our cellars in the wines.

The ÖTW is a winegrowers’ association, founded in 1992 and headquartered in Krems an der Donau. According to the ÖTW charter, its primary objective is to create a classification of Austria’s vineyards (»Ried«). This should provide consumers with an element of orientation in navigating Austria’s myriad appellations of origin.

Where we are

Kamptal, Kremstal,
Traisental, Wagram,
Vienna and Carnuntum

OeTW Donau
OeTW Donau

Viticulture along the Danube.

 

Our member estates are cultivating the historical vineyards in the valley landscape of the northwestern Danube region, these are the appellations Kamptal, Kremstal, Traisental and Wagram, as well as along the eastern part of the Danube in the wine-growing regions of Vienna (Wien) and Carnuntum. Each appellation reflects its own special & distinctive nature in the wines.

What we do

‘The present needs its
origin in the past, in order
to shape the future’.

oetw weinstock 0401
oetw weinglas 0402
oetw weinstock 0401
oetw weinglas 0402

Origins, site & authenticity stand together above all.

 

Our endeavour articulates itself in creating the antithesis to wine as a uniform mass-produced product, lacking individuality, without recognisability or any connexion to nature. Wine that demonstrates a perceptible relationship with its point of origin is our objective.

Our mission.

Austria’s winegrowing regions are marvellously diverse. According to region, it is often the case that neighbouring – sometimes only a couple rows in area – vineyards will be planted in different soils, or be influenced by a distinct microclimate. These differences bear direct influence upon the wine that is growing there.

 

In close collaboration with geologists, ampelographers and other experts in their respective fields of study we have dedicated ourselves since 1992 with passion & diligence to the classification of vineyards, and defining them based on the factors of history, soil, microclimate, and their influence upon the characteristics & quality of a particular wine. This vineyard classification serves the consumer in orientation while navigating Austria’s vast landscape of vineyards with its more than 4000 sites.

 
Our seal

The mark of every
member estate.

Hand Kompass OeTW
OeTW Siegel
Hand Kompass OeTW
OeTW Siegel

The ÖTW seal.

oetw logo sonnenuhr zu

Wind & weather, the course of the seasons, dynamic tension between day & night, positions of the sun and of the moon, cosmic influences & geology. For thousands of years, winegrowers have gotten their bearings by observing these factors & phenomena. They are represented on our seal by the sundial and the compass. The ÖTW seal identifies our member estates and will be shown by them on the capsule or label.

Our history

Community, identity,
soil and quality of wine.

oetw gruendungsmitglieder 0601
oetw gruendungsmitglieder 0601

The best parts were the rambles together ...

 

‘The best parts were the rambles together through the vineyards, and the tastings of wines that were grown in them. Nowhere else in the world of food & drink is there such an intimate bond between place of origin and pleasure than with wine. We were particularly fond of Burgundy with its emphasis on origins, classification and the traditions that have grown up around fine wine’.
Reminiscence of a founding member

Even before the first gatherings toward the end of the 1980s, our founding members knew that there is an intense connexion between wine and the site. So they met with one another to explore this relationship in depth and to map it out with precision. They laid the cornerstone for the Österreichische Traditionsweingüter – the traditional wine estates of Austria.

 

So, the history of the ÖTW reaches back a few decades. These informal meetings ultimately led to ten winegrowers from Kamptal and Kremstal coming together in 1991 to specifically address the process of vineyard classification, and to discuss the potential of their outstanding single vineyards. Focus was placed upon the interdependence of community, identity, soil and the quality of wine.

oetw weingarten 0101
Weingut Hiedler Langenlois 2019 by Julius Hirtzberger
oetw weingarten 0101
Weingut Hiedler Langenlois 2019 by Julius Hirtzberger
 

The first years
In close collaboration with geologists, ampelographers and other experts in their fields, the winegrowers intensified their engagement with the complex interrelationships between soil and microclimate, along with the influence they exert upon the various grape varieties with their respective natures. On the basis of their findings they developed a scientific and articulate system of classification, which remains today the foundation of our work.

From 1991 to now
Over the years, the founding members from the Kamptal and the Kremstal expanded their circle to include wine producers from Wagram and the Traisental – and then in 2018 to include winegrowers in Wien (Vienna is an official appellation of origin) and Carnuntum.

2010
found the association expanded to a membership of thirty growers, all bringing their knowledge and experience to the common endeavour. Based on a methodology developed over time, they introduced the process for the first vineyard classification in Austria. This was rooted in the understanding – as it remains – that great wines will only flourish in the most outstanding and most significant vineyard sites.

53 vineyard sites
were classified as ÖTW.Erste Lage (1ÖTW) in the first phase. As of the 2019 classification, a total of 89 vineyards bear this distinction.

In 2020
we made our classification system available to non-member wine producers from the Danube River Region, under condition of compliance with the association’s criteria for cultivation of vineyards and the vinification of wine. They are allowed to display the device 1ÖTW on the label, while the official ÖTW seal remains reserved for member estates.

To the top

Wer wir sind

68 gleichgesinnte Winzer*innen
90 ÖTW ERSTE LAGEN

Wir verstehen Wein
nicht als ein uniformes
Massenprodukt.

Weingut Hiedler Langenlois 2013 by Thomas Kirschner
oetw weinglaeser 0102
Weingut Hiedler Langenlois 2013 by Thomas Kirschner
oetw weinglaeser 0102

Weinkultur im Donauraum seit Jahrhunderten.

 

Wir sind Gleichgesinnte, die danach streben, die Charakteristika unserer Gegend und Böden, unseres Klimas, unserer Sorten und unserer Keller in den Weinen zum Ausdruck zu bringen.

Die ÖTW sind ein 1992 gegründeter Verein mit Sitz in Krems an der Donau. Primäres Ziel ist laut Gründungsurkunde eine Klassifikation der Rieden Österreichs. Diese soll den Konsument*innen eine Orientierungshilfe in der Vielzahl an Herkunftsbezeichnungen sein.

Wo wir sind

Kamptal, Kremstal,
Traisental, Wagram,
Wien und Carnuntum

OeTW Donau
OeTW Donau

Weinbau entlang der Donau.

 

Unsere Mitglieder bewirtschaften die historischen Rieden in der Tälerlandschaft im nordöstlichen Donauraum, das sind die Appellationen Kamptal, Kremstal, Traisental und Wagram, sowie im Osten entlang der Donau in den Weinbauregionen Wien und Carnuntum. Jede Appellation spiegelt ihre Besonderheit im Wein wider.

Unser Auftrag

Gegenwart braucht
Herkunft, damit sie
Zukunft gestalten kann.

oetw weinstock 0401
oetw weinglas 0402
oetw weinstock 0401
oetw weinglas 0402

Herkunft, Lage und Authentizität stehen über allem.

 

Unser Streben versteht sich als Antithese zu Wein als uniformem Massenprodukt ohne Individualität, ohne Erkennbarkeit und Bezug zur Natur. Wein in merkbarer Beziehung zu seinem Ursprung ist unser Ziel.

Unser Auftrag.

Die österreichischen Weinbaugebiete sind vielfältig. Je nach Gebiet kann es sein, dass angrenzende – oft nur ein paar Zeilen große – Weingärten auf unterschiedlichen Böden liegen und durch ein anderes Kleinklima geprägt sind. Diese Unterschiede haben direkten Einfluss auf den dort wachsenden Wein.

 

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit Geologen, Ampelografen (Rebsortenkundlern) und anderen Expert*innen widmen wir uns deshalb seit 1992 mit Leidenschaft und Akribie der Lagenklassifizierung und ihrer Definition anhand von Geschichte, Boden, Mikroklima und deren Einfluss auf die Charakteristik und Güte der jeweiligen Weine. Diese Lagenklassifizierung dient den Konsument*innen als Orientierungshilfe innerhalb der österreichischen Riedenlandschaft mit ihren über 4.000 Lagen.

 
Unser Siegel

So erkennen Sie die
Mitgliedsbetriebe.

Hand Kompass OeTW
OeTW Siegel
Hand Kompass OeTW
OeTW Siegel

Das ÖTW Siegel.

oetw logo sonnenuhr zu

Wind und Wetter, Jahreszeitenverlauf, Spannungsfeld zwischen Tag und Nacht, Stand der Sonne und des Mondes, kosmische Einflüsse und Geologie. An diesen Elementen und Phänomenen orientieren sich die Weinbauern seit Jahrtausenden, auf unserem Siegel sind sie durch Sonnenuhr und Kompass symbolisiert. Das ÖTW-Siegel kennzeichnet die Mitgliedsbetriebe und wird von diesen auf Kapsel oder Etikett angebracht.

Unsere Geschichte

Gemeinschaft, Identität,
Boden und Weinqualität.

oetw gruendungsmitglieder 0601
oetw gruendungsmitglieder 0601

Das Schönste waren die gemeinsamen Wanderungen ...

 

„Das Schönste waren die gemeinsamen Wanderungen durch die Lagen und die Verkostungen der dort entstandenen Weine. Nirgendwo in der Welt des Essens und Trinkens gibt es ein so enges Band zwischen Herkunft und Genuss wie beim Wein. Sehr sympathisch war uns immer schon das Burgund mit seiner Betonung der Herkunft, Klassifizierung und den gewachsenen Traditionen rund um edlen Wein.“
Erinnerung eines Gründungsmitglieds

Schon vor den ersten Zusammenkünften gegen Ende der 1980er-Jahre wussten unsere Gründungsmitglieder, dass zwischen Wein und Lage eine intensive Verbindung besteht. So trafen sie einander, um dieser Verbindung auf den Grund zu gehen und präzise auszuarbeiten. Sie legten den Grundstein für die Österreichischen Traditionsweingüter.

 

Die Geschichte der ÖTW reicht also weit zurück. 1991 formierten sich schlussendlich zehn Winzer aus dem Kamptal und Kremstal, um den Prozess der Lagenklassifizierung gezielt anzugehen und das Potential ihrer herausragenden Einzellagen zu diskutieren. Im Fokus stand die Interdependenz von Gemeinschaft, Identität, Boden und Weinqualität.

oetw weingarten 0101
Weingut Hiedler Langenlois 2019 by Julius Hirtzberger
oetw weingarten 0101
Weingut Hiedler Langenlois 2019 by Julius Hirtzberger
 

Die ersten Jahre.
In enger Zusammenarbeit mit Geologen, Ampelografen (Rebsortenkundlern) und anderen Expert*innen intensivierten die Winzer ihre Auseinandersetzung mit den komplexen Zusammenhängen von Boden und Kleinklima und deren Einfluss auf die unterschiedlichen Rebsorten mit den jeweiligen Charakteren. Auf Basis ihrer Erkenntnisse entwickelten sie eine wissenschaftliche und objektivierbare Klassifikations-Systematik, die bis heute die Grundlage unserer Arbeit ist.

Von 1991 bis heute.
Die Gründungsmitglieder aus dem Kamptal und Kremstal erweiterten über die Jahre ihren Kreis um Weingüter am Wagram und im Traisental, 2018 um Weingüter in Wien und Carnuntum.

2010
war der Verein auf dreißig Winzerinnen und Winzer angewachsen, die ihre Erfahrung und ihr Wissen in die gemeinsame Arbeit einbrachten. Auf Basis der über die Zeit entwickelten Systematik leiteten sie den Prozess für die erste Lagenklassifizierung Österreichs ein. Sie gingen davon aus, und tun dies noch heute, dass große Weine nur in den herausragendsten und bedeutendsten Lagen einer Region gedeihen.

53 Rieden
wurden in dieser ersten Phase als ÖTW ERSTE LAGE (1ÖTW) klassifiziert. Mit der „Klassifikation 2020“ dürfen nun insgesamt 90 Lagen dieses Prädikat tragen.

2020
öffneten wir auch Nicht-Mitgliedsbetrieben aus dem Donauraum unser Klassifikations-System unter Einhaltung der Vereinskriterien zu Weingarten-Bewirtschaftung und Weinbereitung. Sie dürfen 1ÖTW am Etikett führen, das ÖTW-Siegel ist den Mitgliedsbetrieben vorbehalten.

To the top